WOOD Michael - 001 author photo [cr. Chris Ratcliff - free to use].jpg

MICHAEL WOOD

Agent: Tom Witcomb

Biography: Born and bred in Sheffield , Michael worked as a freelance journalist for The Star covering crime and the courts. He is part of the CrimeSquad reviews team.

His DCI Matilda Darke series follows the female office after she returns to work after a long absence caused by PTSD. Initially tasked with re-opening a cold case, she is soon thrust back into the front line as the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

Praise for FOR REASONS UNKNOWN:

‘A beautifully written book with a dark heart and a secret that impacts on generations’ -- Sarah Ward

‘A skilfully crafted and compelling debut that hooks from the off and will keep you guessing until the final page. I can’t wait for Michael Wood’s next one’ -- M.R. Hall

‘Gripping, sad and unexpected – this is a terrific debut. Wood writes with the confidence and flair of an old hand’ -- Alex Marwood

‘A strong debut with an intriguing mystery at its heart. The first thing that strikes me is how well he writes female characters. The novel is packed full of strong women’ -- Ben Cheetham

‘An appealing – and refreshingly human – lead character is swept along in this ingeniously plotted, fast paced debut’ -- Chris Simms

‘This explosive novel is already making a bang – with reviewers comparing Michael’s work to that of his heroes Val McDermid and James Oswald’ -- Sheffield Star

Praise for OUTSIDE LOOKING IN:

‘Crackling dialogue, dark wit and an exciting ending. Recommended if you liked Happy Valley’ -- Mark Edwards

‘DCI Matilda Darke is going places’ -- James Oswald

‘A compelling, addictive read, it’s hard to put down. I really enjoyed getting to know DCI Matilda Darke. She's a strong character with real depth’ -- Robert Bryndza, bestselling author of THE GIRL IN THE ICE

 

 

 THE HANGMAN'S HOLD  Novel, 405 pages, Killer Reads, UK, 2018  Your life is in his hands.  In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.     There’s a killer in your house.  The Hangman waits in the darkness.  He knows your darkest secrets.  He’ll make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.  And he is closer than you think.  DCI Matilda Darke is running out of time. Fear is spreading throughout the city. As the body count rises, Matilda is targeted and her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

THE HANGMAN'S HOLD

Novel, 405 pages, Killer Reads, UK, 2018

Your life is in his hands.

In the gripping new serial killer thriller from Michael Wood, Matilda Darke faces a vicious killer pursuing his own brand of lethal justice. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons and Helen Fields.

 

There’s a killer in your house.

The Hangman waits in the darkness.

He knows your darkest secrets.

He’ll make you pay for all the crimes you have tried desperately to forget.

And he is closer than you think.

DCI Matilda Darke is running out of time. Fear is spreading throughout the city. As the body count rises, Matilda is targeted and her most trusted colleagues fall under suspicion. But can she keep those closest to her from harm? Or is it already too late?

 A ROOM FULL OF KILLERS  Novel, 487 pages, Killer Reads UK, 2017  The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Lee Child and Karin Slaughter.  Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…  Starling House is home to some of the nation’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.  When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.  The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers…

A ROOM FULL OF KILLERS

Novel, 487 pages, Killer Reads UK, 2017

The third book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Peter James, Lee Child and Karin Slaughter.

Eight killers. One house. And the almost perfect murder…

Starling House is home to some of the nation’s deadliest teenagers, still too young for prison.

When the latest arrival is found brutally murdered, DCI Matilda Darke and her team investigate, and discover a prison manager falling apart and a sabotaged security system. Neither the staff nor the inmates can be trusted.

The only person Matilda believes is innocent is facing prison for the rest of his life. With time running out, she must solve the unsolvable to save a young man from his fate, and find a murderer in a house full of killers…

 OUTSIDE LOOKING IN   Novel, 378 Pages, Killer Reads, UK, 2016  The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.  When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.  The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.  The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.      

OUTSIDE LOOKING IN 

Novel, 378 Pages, Killer Reads, UK, 2016

The second book in Michael Wood’s darkly compelling new crime series featuring DCI Matilda Darke. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

When elderly George Rainsford goes to investigate a suspicious noise one night, the last thing he expects to find is a bloodbath. A man has been killed and a woman brutally beaten, left for dead.

The victims are Lois Craven and Kevin Hardaker – both married, but not to each other. Their spouses swear they knew nothing of the affair and, besides, they both have alibis for the attack. With nothing else to link the victims, the investigation hits a dead end.

The pressure is on for investigating officer, DCI Matilda Darke: there’s a violent killer on the loose, and it looks like her team members are the new targets. With no leads and no suspects, it’s going to take all Matilda’s wits to catch him, before he strikes again.

 

 

 FOR REASONS UNKNOWN  Novel, 336 pages, Killer Reads UK, 2015  A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.  DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.  Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

FOR REASONS UNKNOWN

Novel, 336 pages, Killer Reads UK, 2015

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda's case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…