David Gilman’s MONKEY & ME nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal

David Gilman’s MONKEY & ME (published by Templar in the UK and Penguin in Australia) has been nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal, awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The selection process for the Carnegie Medal is organised by the Youth Libraries Group (YLG). 12 children's librarians - members of the YLG - form the panel of judges. The judges will read and assess each title, and a longlist for the Medal will be announced on Tuesday 10 February 2015, followed by a shortlist on Tuesday 17 March 2015. The winning titles will be announced at an awards ceremony in Summer 2015, date to be confirmed.

MONKEY & ME has also been nominated for the Fantastic Book Awards 2014, voted for by thousands of schoolchildren in Lancashire.

Ten-year-old ‘Beanie’ is always getting into scrapes, and his older brother Mark keeps getting a black eye from standing up to belligerent kids who pick on his younger brother. Their dad has given up his job as a truck driver to work as a postman, to be closer to home, and we know that things are not quite right with the family. But there’s a world outside filled with excitement and intrigue as Beanie makes a bid to join his brother’s gang, and they brave the scary deserted house The Black Gate, where some creature is making frightening noises…only to come upon, of all things, a chimpanzee. How exactly he got there is a mystery to be solved as Beanie bonds with the ape he names Malcolm, discovering that he seems to know some basic sign language. Has he escaped from an animal experiment laboratory? Who are the men pursuing him? And can the boys rescue Malcolm from what could be a harsh fate, with the help, perhaps of a deaf girl…

David Gilman is an award winning screenwriter, who has written for long running series like DALZIEL AND PASCOE and A TOUCH OF FROST. He is currently writing the MASTER OF WAR historical adventure series for adults.

 

Praise for MONKEY & ME

‘I haven't read anything like this book before... I liked this sad, humorous, emotional book and I rate it 9¾ out of 10.’ – Child book reviewer, Children’s Books site, The Guardian

‘We desperately need writing of this quality for this younger age group... Some very serious, thought-provoking issues are tackled with a very skilful, light and humorous touch making this is a book to appeal to many different audiences and be read on many different levels.’ – Schoolzone

‘MONKEY & ME is a fantastic read that will have both boys and girls totally engrossed.’ – Booksforkeeps

 

Visit David’s website

Follow David on Twitter

 

DISCOVERING SCARFOLK published in the UK by Ebury today

Do you remember the 1970s with a warm glow of nostalgia? Really? What’s wrong with you? Richard Littler’s utterly hilarious DISCOVERING SCARFOLK has escaped the time warp and is published today by Ebury in the UK.

Scarfolk is a town in North-West England that never progressed past 1979. DISCOVERING SCARFOLK is based on the astonishingly popular blog by Richard Littler – aka the Mayor of Scarfolk. With over a million views and great critical praise, the Scarfolk blog shot to prominence last year. The town has a similar tone to Royston Vasey in THE LEAGUE OF GENTLEMEN, and has also been compared Lake Woebegon and Twin Peaks.

DISCOVERING SCARFOLK follows Dr. Ben Motte, who has discovered an archive of material compiled by Daniel Bush, a man looking for his young, blond, twin sons, who disappeared in Scarfolk in 1970. Daniel embarks on his mission to find his purported offspring, finding reams of Scarfolk council notices, pamphlets and publications, revealing more and more about the town. As he uncovers this material, so he grows to become increasingly suspicious of the Mayor and his constituents… And who is the mysterious shaggy beast who leaves a trail of paperclips behind at the scenes of various crimes? Has something gone awry in the already very wonky town of Scarfolk?

Richard Littler was born in Manchester and has lived in America, Russia, Germany and Ireland. A screenwriter with a decade of experience, he has sold several screenplays and treatments; a new feature project is currently in development in China.

Buy DISCOVERING SCARFOLK here!

Watch a trailer for the book below.


Praise for the Scarfolk blog:

“Brilliantly warped!” – The Independent

“Scarfolk is a triumph of psychogeography and pretty much what the internet was invented for, as far as I’m concerned.” – tor.com

"[The posts are] very funny, very clever and also they scare me a bit” – Warren Ellis

"Scarfolk: One visit is not enough" – Ian Rankin

HEAP HOUSE out in the US today from Overlook

The Iremongers are let loose in the States today as HEAP HOUSE, the first book in Edward Carey’s acclaimed IREMONGER trilogy, is published in the US by Overlook. It will be published in beautiful hardback with illustrations by the author himself.

The book, which will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl and Mervyn Peake, young and old alike, tells the story of Clod Iremonger and his eccentric family ('kings of mildew, moguls of mould'), all of whom must carry 'birth objects' as a matter of course, and who make their fortune from the collective detritus of a Dickensian London. When Clod begins to hear objects from the heaps speaking out, everything is shifting, and with the arrival of orphan, Lucy Pennant, Clod will have to decide where he belongs.

The book has already received a fantastic review in the New York Times by Pseudonymous Bosch, who wrote:

‘At first glance, you might mistake Edward Carey's HEAP HOUSE for a new edition of Dickens illustrated by Edward Gorey. In fact, the novel's delightfully dour, hand-painted portraits are the work of Carey himself. . . . Carey remains true to his dark, skewed vision all the way to the perverse but perfect end. HEAP HOUSE is weird, yes, Spectacularly so. . . . Here's hoping … [this] talented and original author stay[s] strange.’ 

Kirkus called HEAP HOUSE ‘a gothic tale in turns witty, sweet, thoughtful and thrilling—but always off-kilter—and penned with gorgeous, loopy prose just this side of precious… magnificently creepy’, and Publisher’s Weekly gave it a starred review, writing ‘Full of strange magic, sly humor, and odd, melancholy characters, this trilogy opener, peppered with portraits illustrated by Carey in a style reminiscent of Peake’s own, should appeal to ambitious readers seeking richly imagined and more-than-a-little-sinister fantasy.’, and included it in their Best Indie Books Fall 2014 picks. It has also been listed by Indie Sleepers on their “Big Books From Small Presses 2014” list.

In the UK, HEAP HOUSE was recommended on the Booktrust Christmas Gifts for Children List 2013 and listed by The Sunday Times as one of the Top Children’s Books of 2013. Booker Prize winner Eleanor Catton called it ‘delightful, eccentric, heartfelt, surprising, philosophical’ and her ‘favourite novel for children published this year’. The paperback is currently available.

Rights to HEAP HOUSE have been sold in 9 territories, including HarperCollins in Canada who published in March. In the UK, Hot Key have just published the second in the trilogy, FOULSHAM.

Follow Edward on Twitter

Visit the Iremongers on Edward’s website

Praise for HEAP HOUSE:

‘Edward Carey's HEAP HOUSE-- delightful, eccentric, heartfelt, surprising, philosophical, everything that a novel for children should be.’ – Eleanor Catton, author of THE LUMINARIES

‘IREMONGER torques and tempers our memories of Dickensian London into a singularly jaunty and creepy tale of agreeable misfits. Read it by gas lamp, with a glass of absinthe at your wrist and a fireplace poker by your knee. ’    -- Gregory Maguire, author of WICKED

'I cannot recommend HEAP HOUSE by Edward Carey enough. The best book of its kind since GORMENGHAST (& more exciting)' – Gregory Norminton

‘Fabulously strange and in the tradition of Mervyn Peake... Astonishing and inventive, it calls out to be read.' – Sunday Times Best Children’s Books of 2013 

Two Blake Friedmann authors nominated for Green Carnation Prize

Two Blake Friedmann authors have been longlisted for the Green Carnation Prize. Kerry Hudson’s THIRST and Laurie Penny’s UNSPEAKABLE THINGS were both among the 13 books selected for the prize which celebrates the best of LGBT literature. Other longlisted nominees include Neel Mukherjee, Anna Freeman and Emily Mackie. The shortlist will be announced on 6 November.

THIRST is a heart-breaking romance of almost unbearable fragility in contemporary East London & Russia. Kerry Hudson is also author of TONY HOGAN BOUGHT ME AN ICE CREAM FLOAT BEFORE HE STOLE MY MA, which was shortlisted for 8 awards, including the Green Carnation, and won the Scottish First Book Award. Both books were published by Chatto.

Laurie Penny’s UNSPEAKABLE THINGS is a fresh look at gender and power in the twenty-first century which asks difficult questions about dissent and desire, money and masculinity, sexual violence, menial work, mental health, queer politics and the Internet. It was published by Bloomsbury earlier this year.

Praise for THIRST:

'Hudson excels at depicting twilight lives... tremendously affecting… impressively unostentatious in its instinct for a common story within a city of millions that rarely gets heard.' - Claire Allfree, The Metro

'Hudson builds up narrative tension slowly. It’s not so much the will-they-won’t-they tension that is more pervasive to general romance, but rather a sense, even before we know Alena’s back-story fully, of external threat lingering in the air, knocking on the door of Dave’s flat, now a refuge... THIRST is hardly an easy summer read but it is probably an essential one.' - The Scotsman

Praise for UNSPEAKABLE THINGS:

‘We need her. … We need fresh, extreme voices to make us re-examine ourselves for complacency and closed-mindedness. Penny forces us to test the ground we stand on and say, yes.’ – Melanie Reid, The Times

‘[Laurie Penny] knits rendingly painful personal anecdotes into the essays in "Unspeakable Things: Sex, Lies and Revolution," … [she] is resolutely urgent (and sometimes very earnest) as she reaches for context, reminding us of the excluded and the undervalued.’ – Joy Press, The LA Times