GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS out in paperback today

Emer O’Toole’s witty and intelligent GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS is published by Orion today. For fans of Caitlin Moran, in GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS Emer encourages young women to explore the issues surrounding their gender, and to face them with confidence. The book examines the performance aspect to being a woman, and what it really means to “act like a girl”.

Emer will be on Woman’s Hour today to celebrate the publication, so be sure to tune in at 10am.

GIRLS WILL BE GIRLS was the number one book pick for February in Stylist Magazine, and was on the Guardian List of 150 Arts Essentials for 2015. The Irish Times also listed it in their Biography and Memoir picks for 2015, and will review in full this weekend, with their preview: "Anna Carey reviews Girls Will be Girls by Emer O’Toole, a witty, engaging appeal for everybody to stop conforming so rigidly to gender stereotypes."

Emer wrote for The Guardian Weekend Mag on Top Ten Things Feminism Has Ruined for her.

Follow Emer on Twitter

Tatamkhulu Afrika’s BITTER EDEN out in paperback in the US today

Tatamkhulu Afrika’s haunting, semi-autobiographical World War II novel is published in paperback today in the States, by Picador USA.

BITTER EDEN is based on Tatamkhulu Afrika’s own capture in North Africa and his experiences as a prisoner-of-war in World War II in Italy and Germany. This frank and beautifully written novel deals with three men who must negotiate the emotions that are brought to the surface by the physical closeness of survival in the male-only camps.

Named in NPR’s Best Books of 2014, Saeen Jones writes that ‘Afrika's autobiographical novel based on his experiences as a prisoner of war during World War II is as beautiful as it is heartbreaking.’

BITTER EDEN has been selected in the 2015 Stonewall Book Awards as an Honor Book of Literature.

Presses de la Cite recently pre-empted for French rights for the novel, which they will publish for the Rentrée Litteraire in Autumn 2015.

Praise for BITTER EDEN:

‘Afrika ‘shows with an insider’s empathy how, in the myriad battles of our recent past, an even greater number of private wars were lost or won.’ – Argus.

‘BITTER EDEN’s love is neither kind nor tame nor ever adorned.  The word love is never mentioned, because love—if this is really the name for it—is so spare and brutal and bare-knuckled that the characters themselves aren’t even aware of it.  But this book will haunt you, and stay with you, and won’t ever let go, just like the memory of a love that never happened but should have happened continues to exact its toll of misfired hopes and regrets.  But the language is not spare and the poetry here, like shards of a broken bottle, is simply everywhere.’ – André Aciman, Call Me By Your Name

'Bitter Eden is earthy and lyrical, caustic and moving.' – Christos Tsiolkas, author of The Slap

Peter James is the ‘Best Crime Writer Of All Time’

The public have voted Peter James the Best Crime Writer of All Time’ in a poll run by WH Smiths. Peter James won the poll ‘by a landslide’, beating crime heavyweights including Ian Rankin, James Patterson and even the classic Agatha Christie.

Earlier this month, Peter’s detective Roy Grace came 7th in WH Smiths poll of the Top 20 Detectives.

The Roy Grace novels are published in the UK by Macmillan and are international bestsellers, translated into over 35 languages. His 11th Roy Grace novel, YOU ARE DEAD, is out in May 2015.

Praise for Peter James

'Peter James is one of the best crime writers in the business.' -- Karin Slaughter

'Exceptional, knock-your-socks-off.' -- Washington Post


KNIGHTLEY & SON: K-9 by Rohan Gavin, the much anticipated sequel to KNIGHTLEY & SON, is out today in the US from Bloomsbury.

Darkus Knightley, tweed-wearing, mega-brained, thoroughly logical 13-year-old investigator of the weird, was just getting used to having his dad back in his life. Then Alan Knightley went off-radar, again, leaving Darkus with a traumatised ex-bomb-disposal dog as his only partner in crime-solving. Now things are getting even stranger. Family pets are being savaged by a beast at a top London beauty spot. Policemen have been tracked and attacked by a particularly aggressive canine. And two curiously alert hounds seem to be watching Darkus’s house. No one is using the word werewolf – yet – but as the full moon approaches, it doesn’t take Sherlock Holmes to work out that someone or something sinister is messing with the minds of London’s dog population. A mysterious canine conspiracy is howling for the attention of Knightley & Son…

Published in the UK by Bloomsbury UK in August, K-9 has already been chosen as one of Sunday Express Summer Picks for Older Children 2014. KNIGHTLEY & SON was a Kirkus Best Children's Book of the Year 2014, a Sunday Times Pick of the Week, a Guardian Best Kids’ Book and a Daily Mail Summer Book Choice. The Guardian called it “full of intrigue, suspense and humour ... a modern day classic detective mystery” and the Daily Mail wrote “the tweed-loving Doc is a young Holmes for our times.” KNIGHTLEY & SON was also Shortlisted for the Stockton Children’s Book Awards 2014 and longlisted for Fantastic Book Awards 2014. Knightley & Son is also up for the Bolton Book Prize. Gallimard published KNIGHTLEY & SON in France last year. 

Rohan Gavin is an author and screenwriter, and father. He lives in London and is now writing the third in the series KNIGHTLEY & SON: 3 OF A KIND.

US readers, who gave KNIGHTLEY & SON a warm welcome, have a treat in store with K-9. Look out for Detective Days on the Bloomsbury US Twitter account, 18-20 February, inspired by K-9, where readers will be discussing favourite detectives, mysteries, and authors!


'The perfect case for father-and-son detective team, Knightley & Son' — Sunday Express, Best Children’s Novels Summer 2014

'Young fans of Sherlock Holmes will be happy to see this' — The Bookbag

'A teeth-gnashing thriller... it will have readers howling for a third' – Kirkus

‘A hair-raising adventure… I would highly recommend the trilogy to anyone who loves to get stuck into a great mystery or an action-packed thriller.’ – The Guardian