Essie Fox’s ‘addictive’ THE GODDESS AND THE THIEF beguiles readers & reviewers

GODDESS & THE THIEF The_FOX Essie final draft.jpg

The latest novel from Essie Fox, ‘the master of Victorian drama’, has been drawing high praise. ‘Entirely pleasurable’ (Metro), ‘a gem of a read’ (The Lady), ‘beguiling, imaginative and original’ (Hello), reviewers have said, while The Times wrote: ‘The plot of this addictive novel is intricate and beautifully turned.’

Published by Orion, Essie Fox’s third novel was launched in style in Windsor, where the novel is set. It was a fabulous evening of delicious Indian canapés, Koh-i-Noor beer (from Windsor’s own brewery,with a name that reflects the brilliant jewel at the novel’s heart), henna hand painting, a fortune-teller, and a beautiful rendition of a carol that features in the novel, newly set to music by a friend of the author.

Essie Fox talks about the inspirations behind THE GODDESS AND THE THIEF in this Female First Q&A and on Fleur Fisher’s blog.

Essie’s debut novel, THE SOMNAMBULIST, was shortlisted at the National Book Awards for New Writer of the Year and was picked up by TV Book Club and optioned for film by Hat Trick Productions. It is published by Castelvecchi in Italy and Damm in Sweden and sold to Bertrand in Brazil.

Her second novel ELIJAH'S MERMAID  also received glowing reviews and she is now completing SILENCE ELECTRIC.  Hear more about the subject matter in  this piece about her writing room on Novelicious.

Essie Fox is appearing at a series of literary festivals in the months ahead – see the news page on her website for more details – and is also part of the author performance trio Memento Moriatas, who do innovative events in special venues around London – their launch was at the Dissenter’s Chapel in the historic Kensal Rise cemetery.

For more news from Essie Fox visit her Virtual Victorian blog and follow her on Twitter.

For wonderful images linked to her novels, see her Pinterest page.

Praise for Essie Fox:

'Essie Fox's style is like the great writers of the Victorian era such as Wilkie Collins: flowing and full of subtleties of meaning.' -- Words and Pieces

'Essie Fox really is the master of Victorian drama, and excels in making historical fiction appeal to all' – Anne Cater, Random Things Through My Letterbox

‘[Essie Fox’s work] is perfect for fans of Sarah Waters and Tracy Chevalier’ – Lovereading.co.uk

Praise for THE GODDESS AND THE THIEF:

'Fans of Essie Fox's first two novels will adore this one, and readers who are experiencing this author's work for the first time cannot fail to be impressed either. A truly outstanding novel, well-researched, colourful, sometimes a little dark, often unusual, but very readable and certainly memorable.' – New Books Mag

‘The plot of this addictive novel is intricate and beautifully turned, and echoes of Frances Hodgson Burnett and George MacDonald Fraser are entirely intentional — Fox’s raids on the story-box cleverly enhance the sense of mystery.’ – The Times

 

 Essie Fox signing books for her readers.

Essie Fox signing books for her readers.