Lauren Beukes’ ZOO CITY wins 2010 Arthur C. Clarke Award


Lauren Beukes' ZOO CITY has won the 2010 Arthur C. Clarke Award for science fiction novel of the year. This is the Britain's most prestigious prize for science fiction writing and a wonderful accolade for a remarkable novel. Previous winners of the prize include Margaret Atwood, China Mieville, Amitav Ghosh and Ian McLeod.

Here is the YouTube clip of Lauren being presented the award by previous three time winner China Mieville.

Award director Tom Hunter said "This is a great book that promises to inspire both long terms fans of the genre and introduce a whole new readership to the best of science fiction literature."

ZOO CITY is also on the ballot for the Locus Award and the John W Campbell Award for best new writer, one of the three most prestigious sci-fi awards in the United States. She is also in the running for The 2010 University of Johannesburg Prize for the best creative work in English, the winner to be announced in May.

Congratulations Lauren!