THE HIDEAWAY HITS NUMBER 1 – AND WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT AT NUMBER 10 ON IRISH BESTSELLER LISTS!

THE HIDEAWAY by Sheila O'Flanagan, Headline Front cover.JPG

Sheila O’Flanagan’s summer sensation THE HIDEAWAY leapt to Number 4 on the Irish Times hardback list in its first week on sale and hit the top spot on the Irish bestseller lists in its second. THE HIDEAWAY, a story of shocking truths, grief and hope set against the backdrop of the idyllic Spanish countryside, was published on 17 May. A Bookends Book of the Month for May, THE HIDEAWAY is the ideal read this summer, whether you’re sitting in the garden or by the poolside – or tucked up inside out of the summer rain!

WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT, Sheila’s novel following a mother and daughter, Lola and Bey, as they make decisions that have a lasting impact on their lives, is still holding strong at Number 10 in the Irish paperback bestseller lists, after months on the list and is currently at Number 16 on the Kindle store. WHAT HAPPENED THAT NIGHT reached Number 2 in Ireland and Number 9 in the UK in its first week of sales in February this year.

What would you do if you discovered you were living a lie?

When a shocking news report shatters Juno Ryan's world, she suddenly finds herself without the man she loves – and with no way of getting the answers she so desperately needs.

A distraught Juno flees to the enchanting Villa Naranja in Spain. The blue skies and bountiful orange groves – along with Pep, the winemaker's handsome son – begin to soothe her broken heart, but only Juno herself can mend it.

Just when she begins to feel whole again another bombshell falls. Can Juno put the past behind her? And will she ever learn to trust herself again?

Internationally, new translating publishers have recently acquired Sheila’s titles, with new publications and deals in markets including Croatia, Estonia, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Russia, the Czech Republic and Italy. Sheila has also just returned from an author tour in Sweden. Fans can expect two more captivating reads from Sheila in 2019 and 2020, after Sheila signed a two-book deal with Headline in February.

Sheila O’Flanagan is the author of twenty-five thought-provoking, gripping and unforgettable Sunday Times and ebook bestsellers, including THE MISSING WIFE which was published in the US in February by Grand Central following its UK success. It became a Sunday Times and Irish Times paperback bestseller in 2017, as well as becoming a No.1 ebook bestseller, and one of Amazon’s Top Ten Bestselling ebooks of the year. Her interlinked short story collection CHRISTMAS WITH YOU reached No. 2 in the Irish bestseller lists in the run up to Christmas, and there are more short fiction treats ahead for her fans – watch this space! Headline has sold over 7 million copies of Sheila’s books.

Visit Sheila’s website, where you can also join her mailing list.

Follow her on Twitter

Watch Sheila discuss THE HIDEAWAY on Ireland AM here.

Praise for THE HIDEAWAY:

‘A hugely enjoyable romance, written with pace and heart. It will make you long to jump on a plane yourself’ — Sunday Mirror

‘There's no greater pleasure this time of the year than a frothy beach read and Sheila O'Flanagan's THE HIDEAWAY is one of the best for summer 2018… There are twists - and then some. There are larger-than-life characters. O'Flanagan's stylishness as a writer never tips over into shtickiness or stifles her warmth though - it only makes the flowering of genuine emotion more powerful. O'Flanagan has always been a true and honest writer, which is why she is one of the fairly few who really matter.’ — Lorraine Courtney, The Independent

‘Pure escapism – perfect for fans of Catherine Alliott and Marian Keyes.’ — Candis

‘A great read. After devastating news, the author took us on a journey from soul-destroying distress to acceptance and new beginnings. All the while the backdrop of sultry Spain with its orange groves, vineyards, and handsome men held the reader entranced…Beautiful.’ — Jan Bowles in Review