MUSIC, COMICS AND PEER PRESSURE: MINE BY SALLY PARTRIDGE PUBLISHED TODAY

MINE - PARTRIDGE SA - SA NB.jpg

The #MeToo movement has raised important questions about our attitudes to sexual relationships, the issues surrounding consent and how damaging those attitudes can be. In MINE, Sally Partridge adds her voice to the discussion.

Published in South Africa today by NB publishers, Sally’s fifth Young Adult novel explores what happens when a young girl’s vulnerability is taken advantage of by peers.

On stage, Fin is Thor. Angry and invincible. Yet for all his potential, people always leave him. Kayla is the only girl he's ever met who’s worth loving. The only one he's ever wanted to be worth something for. Kayla knows she's weird and unlovable. But she wants to believe there is no reason to be sad anymore. In each other Fin and Kayla find the only place they've ever belonged. Until the ghosts from the past come to break them apart.

In an interview with Books Live, Sally discussed the role of music in MINE and the importance of speaking about the pressures teenage girls face. She said, ‘This is important because it’s the type of topic we’re only starting to explore now that #MeToo is gaining momentum. Girls often find themselves in situations where they say ‘yes’ when they should be saying ‘no’ because they confuse persuasion and pressure with affection, or they think the repercussions will be different. We’re letting girls down by not talking about it.’

Cape Town novelist Sally Partridge is a three-time winner of the M. E. R. Prize for Best Youth Novel and has been honoured by IBBY International for her young adult fiction. In 2011, she was named one of the Mail & Guardian’s 200 Young South Africans, awarded annually to notable South Africans under the age of 35. MINE is Partridge’s fifth novel for young adults.

Visit Sally’s website or follow her on Twitter

Praise for SHARP EDGES:

‘It’s a taut, smart thriller, beautifully and cleanly written. Partridge gets into her young characters’ heads and makes them three dimensional – for me, they rose off the pages and reminded me of people I knew, loved, loathed and admired from afar when I was a teenager.’ – Natasha Joseph, City Press

‘Partridge specialises in dark, and this one is dark indeed. But it is a compulsive read.’ – Pat Shwartz, Mail & Guardian

‘In her latest novel, Partridge delivers her signature brand of hard-hitting young adult fiction. A harrowing story of teenage tragedy, told from the perspective of six characters. Insightful, frightening and ultimately sad.’ – Cape Times

THE CRYSTAL RUN by Sheila O’Flanagan published tomorrow by Hodder Children’s

The first Young Adult novel by bestselling women’s fiction novelist Sheila O’Flanagan will be published tomorrow by Hodder Children’s. THE CRYSTAL RUN will be published in a stunning hardback edition, the only hardback debut from Hodder Children’s in 2016.

Frantic to escape from danger, Joe is transported to another world where he is plunged into the training regime of the Runners. Their mission is to protect the shield which keeps the Carcassians safe from their enemy. When he is paired with Kaia on her run, he realises how much is at stake. A Runner’s destiny is death, but he can’t let Kaia die. As they fight to escape, Joe needs to find a way to save them both...

Sheila is an ex-bond dealer and financial journalist whose novels have all been immediate No. 1 Irish bestsellers. Her books have been described as ‘as necessary to women as chocolate, and just as addictive!’ Her last three novels have sold in excess of 1,000,000 copies in their British editions. She was the recipient of the prestigious Irish Tatler Literary Woman of the Year award in 2003. With each publication, she breaks her record of weeks at No. 1. Her 25th book for Headline, THE MISSING WIFE, is published in hardback in June. She is currently writing two more adult books for Headline and a follow up to THE CRYSTAL RUN for Hodder Children’s.

HEAP HOUSE’S Clod interns at Hot Key

Clod, hero of Edward Carey’s IREMONGER trilogy, has begun an internship at Hot Key Books. He has made friends with the Hot Key team, who have treated him to Hot Cross Buns, and his duties include feeding Nigel McDowell the shredder and making tea with Joe Dulcie the Kettle. You can read Clod’s blog about his internship here.

Every member of the Iremonger family in HEAP HOUSE by Edward Carey gets a birth object that they will keep with them their entire life. And Clod is the only one who can hear them say their name. If you are interested in finding out what your own birth object would be, you can use Hot Key’s Birth Object Randomiser.

HEAP HOUSE is published by Hot Key in beautiful hardback complete with illustrations by Edward himself. It  will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl and Mervyn Peake, young and old alike.

Novelist, visual artist and playwright Edward Carey is the author of two acclaimed novels, published in many countries around the world. OBSERVATORY MANSIONS was shortlisted for the Borders Discover New Writers Award and ALVA AND IRVA was longlisted for the 2005 IMPAC Literary Award. Both were accompanied by artworks by the author.

Visit Edward Carey's Website Here
 

Clod Iremonger cover.jpg